Bonn Program for Sustainable Transformation

BOOST – Bonn Program for Sustainable Transformation

The Bonn Program for Sustainable Transformation is geared toward embedding sustainability systematically in all areas of the University and fostering a culture of sustainability. Participation, networking and student involvement all have a major role to play, as reflected not least in the program’s guiding principle, “Working Together for Sustainability.”

This participatory whole-of-institution approach is built on the mission statement that was formulated together with representatives of all stakeholder groups at the University and that defines strategic objectives and fields of activity.

BOOST Logo_neu2.png
© Uni Bonn

BOOST - working group

Interested members of various status groups at the University meet regularly in the BOOST working group to discuss sustainability issues and accompany the University on its path to sustainable development. For example, the group is involved in choosing sustainable projects to be supported via the funding pot.

The sustainability strategy is developed based on the mission statement: working groups focusing on specific topics (BOOST sub-groups) set operational targets and define tangible measures for achieving them. All members of the University are invited to get involved in developing the strategy via corresponding tools (such as the Ideas Inbox).

The sustainability strategy is to be understood as a dynamic process rather than a static plan. It is constantly being developed further so that it can adapt in light of changing circumstances and new insights.

Members of the BOOST working group

The following people from various status groups are part of the BOOST working group:

  • Christina Böhm - Sustainability Officer at the Faculty of Medicine

  • Dr. Simon Ebert - in charge of the BOOST teaching sub-group, degree program manager at the Department of History

  • Karl-Heinz Erdmann - honorary professor at the Department of Geography

  • Dr. Sandra Gilgan - head of Bonn Research Alliance (BORA)Unit

  • Holger Gottschalk - Provost

  • Dr. Andreas Hansen - Academic Staff Council

  • Britta Hellhammer - Acquisitions (Section 5.3)

  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Michael Hoch - Rector of the University of Bonn

  • Anne Hüttemann - Green Office

  • Charlotte Kaspari - head of the facility management division at UKB

  • Tanja Kühn-Söndgen - editor for internal communication, University Communications

  • Sina Mosen - advisor to the Vice Rector for Sustainability

  • Madita Mues - Public Relations Department of the General Students’ Committee (AStA)

  • Kevin Passon - in charge of the BOOST operations sub-group, Construction (Section 4.5)

  • Dr. Manuela Preuß - head of the Healthy Campus Team

  • Janna Reif - chairperson of the General Students’ Committee (AStA)

  • Lene Remshagen - Green Office

  • Prof. Dr. Jakob Rhyner - in charge of the BOOST research sub-group, Scientific Director bonnalliance

  • Deborah Rupprecht - Technical and Administrative Staff Council

  • Prof. Dr. Annette Scheersoi - Vice Rector for Sustainability

  • Christina Schlösser - Academic Staff Council

  • Michael Schmitz - head of the facility management section at UKB

  • Kattrin Sippel - chairperson of the Technical and Administrative Staff Council

  • Jennifer Sobotta - head of Sustainability Unit

  • Thorben Thieme - vironmental Department of the General Students’ Committee (AStA)

  • Bernd Weber - Dean of the Faculty of Medicine

Faculty contacts

  • Jeannine Bischoff - Faculty of Arts

  • Christina Böhm - Faculty of Medicine

  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Braun - Faculty of Protestant Theology

  • Carl Erich Kesper - Faculty of Law and Economics

  • Dr. Birgit Hoegen - Faculty of Agriculture

  • Dr. Thomas Münster - Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

  • N.N. - Faculty of Catholic Theology

BOOST - campaign months

To promote networking and a culture of sustainability, the University of Bonn organizes a quarterly campaign month and invites all its members to take part in the many varied initiatives and events all about sustainability. 

© Universität Bonn
© Universität Bonn
© Universität Bonn
© Universität Bonn
Wird geladen