You are here: Home The University Excellence Strategy

WE are a University of Excellence


Our strategy for excellence in research and teaching

On the basis of the University of Bonn's strong research foundation, it is our aim to continue to provide researchers with an environment that fosters creativity and supports the development of talented researchers at all stages of their careers.

Since 2015, we have redefined our research profile in a participatory process and identified six Transdisciplinary Research Areas (TRAs), each of which now has a Cluster of Excellence at its core. TRAs focus our research efforts on key scientific, technological and societal challenges, and bring together areas of excellence and emerging fields.

In the future, we want to continue investing in people on all academic levels. Thus, new high-profile Hertz Chairs will further enhance the TRAs’ research profile and August Wilhelm Schlegel Chairs will serve as instruments to improve research quality in fields that show potential for development. We will enhance our support for junior researchers at all stages of their careers, enabling our top talents to become independent early on. Argelander Tenure Track Professorships will offer junior researchers the opportunity to work at the boundary between disciplines. Furthermore, we have made equal opportunity a top priority and have started to implement top-down measures to ensure that the percentage of our female professors increases.

We will foster our networks at all levels: internally through our TRAs, locally, regionally, and globally, in order to stimulate transdisciplinary discussion and collaboration. 

Finally, we will create impact by making our research results available to society through transfer activities as well as through public outreach. This will raise awareness of the benefits of research and consolidate our role as an engine for social and technological innovation.

We aim to establish the University of Bonn permanently among Germany's leading universities and as one of the top universities internationally.

Funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia (MKW) as part of the Excellence Strategy of the federal and state governments.




Document Actions