About TRA Sustainable Futures

The Transdisciplinary Research Area (TRA) “Innovation and Technology for Sustainable Futures ” at the University of Bonn is a research alliance focusing on the issue of sustainability. Representatives from the University of Bonn drawn from the Faculty of Agriculture, the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, the Faculty of Arts, the Faculty of Law and Economics, the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Bonn and non-university research organizations are involved in its work.

The most important academic and structural aims of the TRA are:

  1. Establishing an internationally-visible, interdisciplinary and inter-faculty research portfolio with a focus on:
    1. Modeling, Foresight, and Risk Assessment Capacity
    2. Technology & Digital World Innovations
    3. Institutional Innovation, Behavior and System Transformations
    4. Nutrition and Health
    5. Development and Change
  2. Identification and recruiting of excellent scientists
  3. Funding collaborative research projects
  4. The development of innovative research areas with the potential to contribute to sustainable transformation and transition processes.

The TRA works on the basis of its statute.

The TRA is managed by:

  • the two speakers
  • the steering committee
  • the general assembly 

Speakers, Steering Committee and Management

Prof. Dr. Jan Börner (Institute of Food and Resource Economics2222)

Prof. Dr. Joachim von Braun (Center for Development Research3333)

The Steering Committee consists of the following members:

  • Prof. Dr. Jan Börner (Speaker, Faculty of Agriculture)
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Durner (Representative of the dean of the Faculty of Law and Economics)
  • Prof. Dr. Mariele Evers (Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences)
  • Dr. Clarissa Glaser (Representative of academic staff)
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Heckelei (Dean of the Faculty of Agriculture)
  • Christian Hoffmann (Representative of administrative and technical staff)
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Holzgreve (University Hospital Bonn)
  • Prof. Dr. Anna-Katharina Hornidge (Faculty of Arts)
  • Prof. Dr. Volker Kronenberg (Dean of the Faculty of Arts)
  • Prof. Dr. Heiner Kuhlmann (Spokesperson of the Cluster of Excellence PhenoRob)
  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Kusche (Faculty of Agriculture)
  • Prof. Dr. Detlef Müller-Mahn (Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences/Faculty of Arts)
  • Prof. Dr. Ribana Roscher (Faculty of Agriculture)
  • Prof. Dr. Gabriel Schaaf (Faculty of Agriculture)
  • Simon Sommerfeld (Representative of students)
  • Prof. Dr. Cyrill Stachniss (Spokesperson of the Cluster of Excellence PhenoRob)
  • Prof. Dr. Joachim von Braun (Speaker, Center for Development Research)
  • Prof. Dr. Bernd Weber (Dean of the Faculty of Medicine)
  • Prof. Dr. Walter Witke (Dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences)
Manager:  Dr. Daniel Minge, Strategic Development and Quality Assurance

Phone: +49 175 1038957
Email: tra6@uni-bonn.de

Newsletter of the TRA Sustainable Futures

A sketch of an envelope with a paper inside.
© Icon-mama on Colourbox

Subscribe to the TRA Sustainable Future newsletter.


Membership aplication for TRA Sustainable Futures

We are looking forward to welcome members who are interested in collaborative, transdisciplinary projects in the area of "Innovation and Technology for a Sustainable Future".

More about TRA Sustainable Futures

Our Research

Research profile, topics, projects

Our offers

Events, funding, newsletter

Our network

Members, partners

Wird geladen