Senate of the University of Bonn

Welcome to the Senate of the University of Bonn

The Senate is one of the central bodies of the University. In accordance with the Constitution of the University of Bonn, it consists of 23 voting members. The members of the Rectorate, the deans of the seven faculties, the University Gender Equality Commissioner, the chairpersons of the two staff councils, a representative from the Office of Disability Resources, the Representative for Students with Disabilities or Chronic Illnesses and the president of the General Students’ Committee also sit on the Senate in an advisory capacity without holding voting rights. The Senate elects a voting member from among the group of university professors to chair the Senate. The chairperson does not have voting rights. A replacement fills their place on the Senate. The chairperson of the Senate prepares its meetings and conducts its business. A deputy chairperson is selected from the group of university professors to perform the chairperson's functions in their absence.

The Tasks of the Senate

The tasks of the Senate are established in the Higher Education Act and the Constitution of the University of Bonn. In accordance with § 22 paragraph 1 of the Higher Education Act of North Rhine-Westphalia (Hochschulgesetz - HG) the Senate is responsible for the following issues:

  1. Participating in the University electoral assembly through the presence of its members in this body for the purpose of electing and deselecting members of the Rectorate
  2. Issuing a statement on the annual report from the Rectorate.
  3. Issuing and altering the University Constitution, framework regulations and regulations for the University unless this law specifies otherwise.
  4. Providing approval for planning principles as defined by § 16 paragraph 1a sentence 1.
  5. Issuing recommendations and statements relating to the draft of the University Development Plan in accordance with § 16 paragraph 1a and the University Agreement in accordance with § 6 paragraph 3, relating to the evaluation reports in accordance with § 7 paragraphs 2 and 3, and relating to the budget plan, the principles for awarding posts and funding to the departments, central research units, central operating units and the medical units.
  6. Issuing recommendations and statements in matters relating to research, art, teaching and studying, which apply to the entire University or central units or which are of fundamental importance.

The Senate sets out its working procedures in its Rules of Procedure, the First Amendment to the Rules of Procedure, the Second Amendment to the Rules of Procedure and the Third Amendment to the Rules of Procedure

Senate meeting on January 31, 2019 © Volker Lannert/Universität Bonn

The Senate Chairperson

Chairperson: Prof. Dr. Rainer Hüttemann

Deputy Chairperson: Prof. Dr. Gisela Muschiol

Senate office

You can contact the Senate office through Section 1.1 Academic Affairs in the Central Administration:

Contact: Heike Holm

+49 228 / 73-7822


Regina-Pacis-Weg 3
53113 Bonn

Meetings of the Senate: Dates and Minutes

Up-to-date information

The sittings of the Senate will be conducted via Zoom in the foreseeable future. Members[A1]  of the University of Bonn can take part in the public session of the Senate meeting; prior registration is required. Please send an email stating your name and status (e.g. student, employee) to Ms[A2] . Holm in the Senate office: The access codes will be sent after registration.

Meetings of the Senate in summer semester 2021

  • May 02, 2024 
  • June 13, 2024
  • July 18, 2024

Meetings in winter semester 2021/2022

  • November 07, 2024
  • December 12, 2024
  • January 30, 2025

Minutes of the Public Session of the Senate

The rules of procedure of the Senate of the University of Bonn from March 18, 2016 state that approved minutes of the public sessions of the Senate will be made available to all University members. These are to be published internally in the Service Portal. of the University of Bonn. This provision does not apply to  the sections of the minutes that record the private proceedings of the Senate meeting pertaining to human resources issues and other confidential matters.

Wird geladen