16. March 2023

Leibniz Prize awarded to Catharina Stroppel Leibniz Prize awarded to Catharina Stroppel

Last December, the German Research Foundation (DFG) announced that Prof. Dr. Catharina Stroppel was selected to receive a Leibniz Prize endowed with 2.5 million euros. This week, the DFG handed over the prize to the scientist at an award’s ceremony at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences in Berlin. 

Prof. Dr. Catharina Stroppel (left)
Prof. Dr. Catharina Stroppel (left) - receives the Leibniz Prize from the President of the German Research Foundation (DFG) Prof. Dr. Katja Becker. © Photo: DFG / David Ausserhofer
Download all images in original size The impression in connection with the service is free, while the image specified author is mentioned.

The scientist from the Hausdorff Center for Mathematics (HCM) at the University of Bonn is being recognized with the award for her outstanding work in representation theory, particularly on the topic of categorization. The prize’s generous endowment grants recipients extraordinary freedom in their research.

Catharina Stroppel studied mathematics and theology at the University of Freiburg, where she received her doctorate in mathematics. As a postdoctoral researcher, she conducted research in Leicester, Aarhus and Glasgow. She has been Professor of Mathematics at the University of Bonn since 2008, Deputy Director of the Bonn International Graduate School since 2014, and a member of the University Senate since 2019. Visiting professorships have taken her to Chicago and Princeton among other renowned international locations. Stroppel is involved in the Cluster of Excellence Hausdorff Center for Mathematics (HCM) and is on the steering committee of the Transdisciplinary Research Area "Modeling" at the University of Bonn. She received a rare invitation to give a plenary lecture at the International Congress of Mathematicians in 2022.

In December 2022, the DFG's Joint Committee awarded the 2023 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize to four female and six male scientists. They had previously been selected from among 131 proposals by the responsible selection committee. Of the ten award winners, two each come from the humanities and social sciences, the natural sciences and engineering, and four from the life sciences.

Each prize recipient is granted an award of 2.5 million euros. Winning scientists can use these funds for their research work for up to seven years according to their own ideas and without bureaucratic hurdles.

University of Bonn press release: https://www.uni-bonn.de/en/news/284-2022

The winners of the Leibniz Prize 2023
The winners of the Leibniz Prize 2023 - with Germany‘s Minister of Education and Research Bettina Stark-Watzinger, Bavarian State Minister for Science and Arts Markus Blume as well as DFG President Prof. Dr. Katja Becker and DFG Secretary General Dr. Heide Ahrens. © Photo: DFG / David Ausserhofer
Award ceremony
Award ceremony - in the Leibniz Hall of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities in Berlin. © Photo: DFG / David Ausserhofer
Wird geladen