Study for Life

Gaining Qualifications While You Study – Workshops, Training, Coaching

Tackling a degree program requires many different skills that students will need to acquire alongside their subject-specific knowledge during their time at university. The workshops and training sessions that form part of the International Office’s “Study for Life” program provide valuable support in this regard.

Study-for-Life_600x400px_Volker-Lannert.jpg
© Volker Lannert/ Universität Bonn

Study for Life

Alongside your subject-specific degree program, the workshops in the “Getting Started,” “Professional Skills,” “Career Planning” and “International Community” modules teach you skills that will make your academic study easier and will be especially valuable for your career.

The courses are aimed at bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral students. Please see the descriptions of the workshops for details of the specific target group.


Getting Started

Many first-year international students face challenges when beginning their studies. The “Getting Started” module offers workshops that give students guidance with organizing their studies and teach them language and other skills that will be useful in their academic and scientific work. The “Lead-In Studies” project is designed specifically to support new bachelor’s students and puts on events that help them learn a structured approach to planning and carrying out their studies.

Getting-started_600x400px_Barbara-Frommann.jpg
© Barbara Frommann/ Universität Bonn

Workshops in the Getting Started module

  • Target group: first-year international students
  • Course language and course format: online workshop taught in German/ English
  • Content: the ability to organize your studies yourself is crucial. The workshop will show you strategies for achieving your own study objectives more effectively and teach you skills that will make you better at organizing your work.
  • Upcoming events: November 22 and December 03, 2021, 03:00 pm to 06:00 pm on both days

Further information and registration2

  • Target group: first-year international students
  • Course language and course format: online workshop taught in German
  • Content: an introduction to the topic of presenting in the context of giving talks and papers. You will be given guidance on structuring presentations, learn presentation techniques and have the chance to practice your own presentations in German in order to get personalized feedback.
  • Upcoming events: 
    Day 1, introduction: December 06, 2021, 01:00 pm to 05:00 pm
    Day 2, consolidation: December 13, 2021, 01:00 pm to 05:00 pm

Further information and registration2

1

  • Target group: first-year international students
  • Course language and course format: online workshop taught in German
  • Content: being familiar with methods of writing academic texts, such as term papers, presentations and publications, will help you execute them well and is vital for getting them recognized. This workshop will show you various ways of putting together a text and explain the rules and pitfalls you need to be aware of in your writing.
  • Upcoming events: November 24 and December 15, 2021, 01:00 pm to 04:00 pm on both days (plus December 16, 2021, 01:00 pm to 04:00 pm, if there is high demand)

Further information and registration

  • Target group: students on preparatory German language courses
  • Content: to complement their preparatory program, students on German language courses are offered workshops on topics such as time management, intercultural training and presentation skills.

Further information3

2


Professional Skills

Your degree program has taught you subject-specific knowledge and key competencies that you can use in your future career. But do you already feel ready to manage a project, build up a professional network and handle conflicts and stress? In the workshops for this module, you will learn skills that you can use both in your studies and in your career.

Professional-Skills_600x400px_Volker-Lannert.jpg
© Volker Lannert/ Universität Bonn

Workshops in the Professional Skills module

  • Target group: international students and alumni of the University of Bonn
  • Course language and course format: online workshop taught in English
  • Content: formulating your life and career goals and gauging your own strengths and weaknesses are two extremely important steps as you embark on your career. Among other things, this block of events will teach students how to gain a better understanding of themselves through group discussions, tell them what skills employers will be looking out for and ultimately show them how they can handle their own strengths and weaknesses.

Further information4

3

  • Target group: international students and alumni of the University of Bonn
  • Course language and course format: online workshop taught in English
  • Content: good communication is the starting point for a healthy relationship with colleagues, managers and customers as well as for progressing your own career. Over the course of this block of events, students will learn various communication styles in order to communicate effectively, successfully and without conflict.
  • Upcoming event: November 17/ 18, 2021, 10:00 am to 11:30 am

Further information4 and registration5

45

565

  • Target group: international students and alumni of the University of Bonn
  • Course language and course format: online workshop taught in English
  • Content: employees can sometimes come up against challenges that do not always have an obvious answer. The most important thing in such a situation is how you go about solving the problem. After this block of events, students will be familiar with a range of problem-solving techniques and how to apply and practice them.
  • Upcoming event: December 2/ 3, 2021, 04:00 pm to 05:30 pm

Further information4 and registration5

  • Target group: international students and alumni of the University of Bonn
  • Course language and course format: online workshop taught in English
  • Content: emotional intelligence means the ability to understand and control your own emotional reactions and respond empathetically to other people’s. This block explains why this skill is key to a successful career and how students can tackle conflicts caused by cultural or emotional differences when they are in a workplace situation.
  • Upcoming event: January 12/ 13, 2022, 12:00 noon to 01:30 pm

Further information4 and registration5

  • Target group: international students and alumni of the University of Bonn
  • Course language and course format: online workshop taught in English
  • Content: when someone starts their first job, they are often plagued by uncertainty and a lack of self-confidence. This can have a negative impact on applicants and young professionals or put students off being proactive in their job-hunting. This block of events teaches students how to develop positive self-esteem and boost it through exercises they can do themselves.
  • Upcoming event: January 24/ 25, 2022, 01:00 pm to 02:30 pm

Further information4 and registration5


Career Steps

About to complete your degree program or doctorate and keen to be as prepared as possible for entering the job market? The events in this module will give you guidance on what careers fit your degree profile and where and how you can look for work as well as showing you practical tips for your applications and job interviews.

Specifically to assist international students, the iStart project offers an intensive careers program that will equip you for climbing onto the career ladder.

Career-Steps_600x400px_Bernadett-Yedou
© Bernadett Yehdou/ Universität Bonn

Workshops in the Career Steps module

  • Target group: international students
  • Course language and course format: online workshop taught in English
  • Content: among other things, this seminar will explain how the German job market is structured and what its current trends are. The event also aims to introduce international students to some of the unique characteristics of the world of work in Germany.

Further information

1

466

The International Alumnae Day welcomes back international graduates of the University of Bonn to share their experiences and insights from their own careers with current international students, including in terms of relevant specialist university knowledge.

Date: November 19, 2021, 04:00 pm to 05:30 pm

Further information4

2466

  • Target group: international students
  • Course language and course format: online workshop taught in English
  • Content: the training session is designed to teach participants the most important criteria when writing a job application in Germany.
  • Upcoming event: December 09, 2021, 02:00 pm to 04:00 pm

Further information4 and registration6

  • Target group: international doctoral students
  • Course language and course format: online workshop taught in German
  • Content: workshop for international doctoral students – Job Interview: Boosting Your Profile and Training for the Interview – enhancing your personal profile, engaging in self-reflection and securing your place on the career ladder.
  • Upcoming event: January 21, 2021, 09:00 am to 01:00 pm

Further information and registration

  • Target group: international doctoral students
  • Course language and course format: online workshop taught in English
  • Content: an introduction to the standards expected in application procedures (job applications and job interviews) in Germany. Career profiles for international doctoral students in their final year.
  • Upcoming event: November 26, 2021, 10:00 am to 02:00 pm

Further information and registration

578


International Community

Studying in an international context offers numerous opportunities for encountering people from different cultures and ways of life. The “International Community” module gives students the opportunity to see things from a different angle, learn with and from one another and get active together – it’s an invitation to become part of an international network.

International-Community_600x400px_Volker-Lannert.jpg
© Volker Lannert/ Universität Bonn

Workshops in the International Community module

  • Target group: University of Bonn students (training sessions are allocated 50/50 to German and international students).
  • Course language and course format: online workshop taught in German or English 
  • Content: the interactive intercultural training sessions combine theoretical input with practical exercises, focusing on exchanging experiences of living abroad and studying in Germany with one another.
  • Dates: 
    • November 19, 2021, 09:00 am to 01:00 pm (in English)
    • December 03, 2021, 02:00 pm to 06:00 pm (in German)
    • December 17, 2021, 10:00 am to 02:00 pm (in English)
    • January 14, 2022, 10:00 am to 02:00 pm (in German)
    • January 28, 2022, 09:00 am to 01:00 pm (in-person training in German with an online option)

Further information and registration7

Also see

Workshops and Coaching

The Central Study Advisory and Counseling Service offers advanced training on study-related topics and fine-tuning your study skills.8

5879

Workshops for doctoral students

The Bonn Graduate Center organizes numerous workshops specifically for doctoral students as part of its interdisciplinary “Doctorate plus” training program.

IT courses

University IT puts on IT courses for students and members of staff at the University of Bonn.

Wird geladen

Study for Life

Qualifizierung neben dem Studium – Workshops, Trainings, Coaching

Ein Studium erfordert viele Kompetenzen, die Studierende sich während ihrer Zeit an der Universität zusätzlich zu ihrem fachlichen Wissen aneignen müssen. Die Workshops und Trainings im Programm „Study for Life“ des International Office leisten hierbei wertvolle Unterstützung.

Study-for-Life_600x400px_Volker-Lannert.jpg
© Volker Lannert/ Universität Bonn

Study for Life

Neben Ihrem fachlichen Studium erlernen Sie in den Workshops der Module „Getting Started“, „Professional Skills“, „Career Planning“ und „International Community“ Kompetenzen, die Ihnen Ihr wissenschaftliches Studium erleichtern und für Ihre berufliche Laufbahn besonders wertvoll sein werden.

Die Kursangebote richten sich an Bachelor- und Masterstudierende sowie an Promovierende. Beachten Sie bitte in den Workshop-Beschreibungen die jeweilige Zielgruppe.


Getting Started

Zu Beginn ihres Studiums stehen viele internationale Studienanfänger*innen vor einigen Herausforderungen. In dem Modul „Getting Started“ werden Workshops angeboten, die Orientierungshilfe bei der Studienorganisation leisten sowie Sprachkenntnisse und Fähigkeiten für das wissenschaftliche Arbeiten vermitteln. Speziell zur Unterstützung in der Studieneingangsphase für Bachelorstudierende bietet das Projekt „Lead-in Studies“ Veranstaltungen an, die Kenntnisse über eine strukturierte Studienplanung und Durchführung vermitteln.

Getting-started_600x400px_Barbara-Frommann.jpg
© Barbara Frommann/ Universität Bonn

Workshops im Modul Getting Started 

  • Zielgruppe: Internationale Studienanfänger*innen
  • Kurssprache und Kursformat: Online-Workshop in Deutsch/ Englisch
  • Inhalt: Die Fähigkeit zur selbständigen Organisation des Studiums ist elementar. Hier erlernen Sie Strategien zur besseren Umsetzung der eigenen Ziele im Studium sowie Kompetenzen für eine verbesserte Arbeitsorganisation.
  • Aktuelle Termine: 22. November und 03. Dezember 2021, jeweils 15.00 - 18.00 Uhr

Weitere Informationen und Anmeldung2111211

  • Zielgruppe: Internationale Studienanfänger*innen
  • Kurssprache und Kursformat: Online-Workshop in Deutsch
  • Inhalt:  Einführung in die Thematik des Präsentierens bei Referaten und Vorträgen. Sie erhalten Anleitungen zum Aufbau von Präsentationen, lernen Präsentationstechniken kennen und können eigene Präsentationen auf Deutsch üben, um individuelles Feedback zu bekommen.
  • Aktuelle Termine: 
    1. Tag, Einführung: 06. Dezember 2021, 13.00 - 17.00 Uhr
    2. Tag, Vertiefung: 13. Dezember 2021, 13.00 - 17.00 Uhr

Weitere Informationen und Anmeldung

  • Zielgruppe: Internationale Studienanfänger*innen
  • Kurssprache und Kursformat: Online-Workshop in Deutsch
  • Inhalt: Kenntnisse über Methoden beim Verfassen wissenschaftlicher Texte, wie in Hausarbeiten, Präsentationen oder Publikationen, sind einerseits hilfreich für ihre gute Ausführung und andererseits unverzichtbar für deren Anerkennung. Dieser Workshop erklärt Ihnen Vorgehensweisen bei der Texterstellung und zeigt Fehlerquellen und Regeln auf, die Sie bei schriftlichen Arbeiten beachten müssen.
  • Aktuelle Termine: 24. November und 15. Dezember 2021, jeweils von 13.00 - 16.00 Uhr (bei starker Nachfrage auch am 16. Dezember 2021, 13.00 - 16.00 Uhr)

Weitere Informationen und Anmeldung2222

  • Zielgruppe: Teilnehmende der studienvorbereitenden Deutschkurse
  • Inhalt: Im Rahmen des studienvorbereitenden Programms wird den Teilnehmenden der Deutschkurse ergänzend Workshops angeboten. Dazu zählen zum Beispiel Zeitmanagement, interkulturelle Trainings oder Präsentieren.

Weitere Informationen


Professional Skills

Für einen späteren Beruf haben Sie sich im Studium fachliche Kenntnisse und Schlüsselkompetenzen angeeignet. Aber fühlen Sie sich schon darauf vorbereitet, ein Projekt zu leiten, sich ein berufliches Netzwerk aufzubauen und mit Konflikten und Stress umzugehen? In den Workshops dieses Moduls erlernen Sie Fähigkeiten, die Sie im Studium und in Ihrer beruflichen Laufbahn anwenden können. 

Professional-Skills_600x400px_Volker-Lannert.jpg
© Volker Lannert/ Universität Bonn

Workshops im Modul Professional Skills

  • Zielgruppe: Internationale Studierende und Alumni der Universität Bonn
  • Kurssprache und Kursformat: Online-Workshop in Englisch
  • Inhalt: Das Formulieren von Lebens- und Karrierezielen und das Einschätzen von Stärken und Schwächen stellt einen äußerst wichtigen Schritt am Anfang der eigenen Karriere dar. Im Rahmen dieses Veranstaltungsblocks lernen die Studierenden u.a. mit Hilfe von Gruppendiskussionen sich selbst besser kennen, sie erfahren nach welchen Fertigkeiten Arbeitgeber*innen Ausschau halten und wissen am Ende, wie sie mit eigenen Stärken und Schwächen umgehen können. 

Weitere Informationen und Anmeldung

  • Zielgruppe: Internationale Studierende und Alumni der Universität Bonn
  • Kurssprache und Kursformat: Online-Workshop in Englisch
  • Inhalt: Eine gute Kommunikation ist der Ausgangspunkt für sowohl ein gutes Verhältnis zu Arbeitskolleg*innen, Vorgesetzten und Kund*innen als auch, um in der eigenen Karriere weiterzukommen. Im Laufe dieses Veranstaltungsblocks lernen die Studierenden verschiedene Kommunikationsstile kennen, um konfliktfrei, effektiv und erfolgreich zu kommunizieren.
  • Aktueller Termin: 17./ 18. November 2021, 10.00 - 11.30 Uhr

Weitere Informationen4 und Anmeldung5

565

  • Zielgruppe: Internationale Studierende und Alumni der Universität Bonn
  • Kurssprache und Kursformat: Online-Workshop in Englisch
  • Inhalt: Arbeitnehmer*innen können manchmal vor Herausforderungen stehen, deren Lösungen nicht immer offensichtlich sind. Das wichtige dabei ist die Herangehensweise beim Lösen des Problems. Nach diesem Veranstaltungsblock werden Studierende verschiedene Problemlösungstechniken sowie ihre Anwendung und Übung kennen.
  • Aktueller Termin: 02./ 03. Dezember 2021, 16.00 - 17.30 Uhr

Weitere Informationen445642 und Anmeldung5565

  • Zielgruppe: Internationale Studierende und Alumni der Universität Bonn
  • Kurssprache und Kursformat: Online-Workshop in Englisch
  • Inhalt: Emotionale Intelligenz bezeichnet die Fähigkeit, eigene emotionale Reaktionen nachzuvollziehen, sie zu kontrollieren und auf emotionale Reaktionen anderer empathisch zu reagieren. Dieser Block erklärt, warum diese Fähigkeit für die Karriere ausschlaggebend ist und wie Studierende am Arbeitsplatz Konfliktsituationen, die durch kulturelle oder emotionale Unterschiede bedingt sind, angehen können.
  • Aktueller Termin: 12./ 13. Januar 2022, 12.00 - 13.30 Uhr

Weitere Informationen445 und Anmeldung5565

  • Zielgruppe: Internationale Studierende und Alumni der Universität Bonn
  • Kurssprache und Kursformat: Online-Workshop in Englisch
  • Inhalt: Der Arbeitsstart wird für Arbeitnehmer*innen oft von Unsicherheiten und einem fehlenden Selbstbewusstsein begleitet. Das kann sich negativ auf Bewerber*innen und junge Arbeitnehmer*innen auswirken oder Studierende von einer proaktiven Arbeitssuche abhalten. Im Rahmen dieses Veranstaltungsblocks lernen die Studierenden wie man ein positives Selbstwertgefühl entwickelt und dieses bei Selbstübungen stärkt.
  • Aktueller Termin: 24./ 25. Januar 2022, 13.00 - 14.30 Uhr

45545Weitere Informationen 44554456444545und Anmeldung55665


Career Steps

Sie stehen kurz vor Ihrem Studien- oder Promotionsabschluss und möchten sich optimal auf den Arbeitsmarkt vorbereiten? Bei den Veranstaltungen dieses Moduls können Sie sowohl Orientierung dazu erhalten, welche Berufsfelder zu Ihrem Studienprofil passen und wo und wie Sie nach Arbeit suchen können, als auch praktische Tipps zu Ihren Bewerbungen und Vorstellungsgesprächen bekommen.

Speziell zur Unterstützung internationaler Studierender bietet das Projekt iStart ein intensives Karriere-Programm an, das Sie für Ihren Berufsstart fit macht.

Career-Steps_600x400px_Bernadett-Yedou
© Bernadett Yehdou/ Universität Bonn

Workshops im Modul Career Steps

  • Zielgruppe: Internationale Studierende
  • Kurssprache und Kursformat: Online-Workshop in Englisch
  • Inhalt: Das Seminar dient unter anderem der Erläuterung der Struktur des deutschen Arbeitsmarktes und dem Aufzeigen von Arbeitsmarkt-Tendenzen. Außerdem verfolgt diese Veranstaltung das Ziel, internationale Studierende über Spezifika der Arbeitswelt in Deutschland aufzuklären.

Weitere Informationen

466

Im Rahmen der International Alumnae Day werden internationale Absolvent*innen der Uni Bonn eingeladen. Dabei werden sie ihre Erfahrungen und Einblicke aus dem eigenen Berufsleben, auch in Hinblick auf relevante fachliche Hochschulkenntnisse, mit den internationalen Studierenden teilen.

Termin: 19. November 2021, 16.00 - 17.30 Uhr

Weitere Informationen und Anmeldung466

  • Zielgruppe: Internationale Studierende
  • Kurssprache und Kursformat: Online-Workshop in Englisch
  • Inhalt: Das Training dient dazu, den Teilnehmenden die wichtigsten Kriterien bei dem Verfassen eines Bewerbungsschreibens in Deutschland näherzubringen.
  • Aktueller Termin: 09. Dezember 2021, 14.00 - 16.00 Uhr

35Weitere Informationen3555 und Anmeldung466

  • Zielgruppe: Internationale Promovierende
  • Kurssprache und Kursformat: Online-Workshop in Deutsch
  • Inhalt: Workshop für internationale Promovierende: Bewerbungsinterview: Profilstärkung und Training Vorstellungsgespräch – Individuelles Profil stärken, Selbstreflexion, Berufseinstieg meistern. 
  • Aktueller Termin:  21. Januar 2022, 09.00 - 13.00 Uhr

Weitere Informationen und Anmeldung56578

  • Zielgruppe: Internationale Promovierende
  • Kurssprache und Kursformat: Online-Workshop in Englisch
  • Inhalt:  Einführung in die Standards für Bewerbungsverfahren (Bewerbungsschreiben und Vorstellungsgespräche) in Deutschland. Karriereprofile für internationale Promovierende im letzten Jahr ihrer Promotion.
  • Aktueller Termin: 26. November 2021, 10.00 - 14.00 Uhr6

Weitere Informationen und Anmeldung6
578


International Community

Studieren im internationalen Kontext bietet viele Möglichkeiten der Begegnung mit Menschen aus anderen Kulturen und Lebensweisen. Im Modul „International Community“ wird Studierenden angeboten, die Perspektiven zu wechseln, mit- und voneinander zu lernen und gemeinsam aktiv zu werden – eine Einladung, um Teil eines internationalen Netzwerkes zu werden.

International-Community_600x400px_Volker-Lannert.jpg
© Volker Lannert/ Universität Bonn

Workshops im Modul International Community

  • Zielgruppe: Studierende der Universität Bonn (die Trainings werden zur Hälfte an deutsche und zu anderen Hälfte an internationale Studierende vergeben.)
  • Kurssprache und Kursformat: Online-Workshops in Deutsch oder Englisch 
  • Inhalt: In den interaktiven Interkulturellen Trainings werden theoretische Inputs verbunden mit praktischen Übungen. Der Austausch miteinander über Auslandserfahrungen und Erlebnissen während des Studiums in Deutschland stehen im Vordergrund.
  • Termine: 
    • 19. November 2021, 09.00 - 13:00 Uhr (in Englisch)
    • 03. Dezember 2021, 14.00 - 18.00 Uhr (in Deutsch)
    • 17. Dezember 2021, 10.00 - 14.00 Uhr (in Englisch)
    • 14. Januar 2022, 10.00 - 14.00 Uhr (in Deutsch)
    • 28. Januar 2022, 09.00 - 13.00 Uhr (Präsenztraining in Deutsch, optional Online)

Weitere Informationen und An6676879meldung667689

Lesen Sie auch

Workshops und Coaching

Die Zentrale Studienberatung bietet Fortbildungen zu studienbezogenen Themen und zur Optimierung von „Study Skills“.8879

Workshops für Promovierende

Zahlreiche Workshops speziell für Promovierende organisiert das Bonner Graduiertenzentrum im überfachlichen Qualifizierungsprogramm „Doctorate plus“.

IT-Lehrveranstaltungen

Das Hochschulrechenzentrum (HRZ) bietet IT-Lehrveranstaltungen für Studierende und Mitarbeitende der Universität Bonn an.

Wird geladen