You are here: Home The University Organization and Facilities Governing Bodies

Governing Bodies


Rector and Rectorate

The University is headed by the Rectorate (Rektorat). Chairing the Rectorate is the Rector (Rektor), who is elected for a four year term and is empowered with the responsibility of representing the University. The additional members of the Rectorate are the five Deputy Rectors (Prorektoren) and the Provost (Kanzler).

The Senat

The Senate is responsible for the following matters:

  • Confirming the election of the members of the Presidium and recommending to the University Council that they be voted out
  • Commenting on the Presidium’s annual report
  • Passing and modifying the basic statutes, general regulations and other ordinances of the University, unless otherwise regulated by this Act
  • Recommending and commenting on the draft version of the University Development Plan and the Agreement on Objectives, furthermore recommending and commenting on the Evaluation Reports, the Economic Plan, the Basic Principles of Distribution of Positions and Funding among the Faculties, Central University Institutions, Central Operational Units and Medical Institutions.

The University Council

The University Council comprises three representatives from within the University and seven members from academic circles, politics and society. The Council advises the Rector's Office and exercises supervisory control over the Office's management of the University.

Faculty Conference 

The seven faculties are headed by a dean or a multi-headed deanery. The Deans form the Faculty Conference, which coordinates inter-faculty affairs and advises the Rectorate and the University Council on overarching issues that are of fundamental importance. Chairman of the Faculty Conference is the Dean of the Faculty of Agriculture, Prof. Dr. Peter Stehle. His deputy is the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Prof. Dr. Nicolas Wernert.

Document Actions