About TRA 1 Modelling


About the TRA 1 Modelling

The TRA 1 Modelling defines herself as a contentual research alliance in between the institutes of mathematics, computer sciences and quantitative economics with further close cooperation with the faculties of medicine and agriculture and institutional participation of the b-it (Bonn-Aachen International Center for Information Technology) and Max-Planck-Institute for mathematics.


Inspired by tradition

The University of Bonn has a traditional strength in mathematics. The Hausdorff Center for Mathematics (HCM) with its integrated graduate school is the oldest cluster of excellence for mathematics in Germany and has made the University of Bonn one of the top mathematical research institutions worldwide. The exceptional standing of mathematics in Bonn is demonstrated by many high level awards, most notably two Fields Medals (“Nobel prize of mathematics”).

The Bonn University‘s Institute of Computer Science was one of the first of its kind in Germany. Hosting various ERC-Grant holders and one of the German Informatics Society’s “most influential minds from the German history of artificial intelligence (AI)”, Bonn is one of Germany’s top 10 computer science locations.

The Department of Economics of the University of Bonn is one of the leading economic research institutions in Europe and enjoys an excellent reputation worldwide. This is confirmed by international rankings as well as numerous highly ranked prizes and awards - notably the Nobel Prize for Economics in 1994.

Going beyond borders of disciplines

The main goals of TRA 1 Modelling are to strengthen inter- and transdisciplinary cooperation within mathematics, computer science, and application areas as well as providing support to establish new cooperations and joint research projects. Furthermore, one of the overall goals of the TRA’s is to promote and support postdoctoral scientists and to provide opportunities for networking and academic exchange.

Our contentual self-concept is a deliberate "bottom-up culture" with a broad, open spectrum of inter- and transdisciplinary topics. 

Research in the TRA 1 Modelling

Spokespersons, Steering Commitee and Management

Spokespersons TRA 1 Modelling

Prof. Dr. Anton Bovier (Institute for Applied Mathematics)
Prof. Dr. Heiko Röglin (Institute for Computer Science)

Steering Committee TRA 1 Modelling

  • Spokespersons TRA 1 Modelling (born members)
    Prof. Dr. Anton Bovier (Institute for Applied Mathematics)
    Prof. Dr. Heiko Röglin (Institute for Computer Science)
  • Members ex officio (born members)
    Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Lück (Spokesperson Cluster of Excellence HCM)
    Prof. Dr. Johannes Beck (Dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences)
    Prof. Dr. Jürgen von Hagen (Head of the Department of Economics)
  • Representatives Professorate & Postdoctorate
    Vice rector Prof. Dr. Maren Bennewitz (Institute for Computer Science)
    Prof. Dr. Jürgen Dölz (Institute for Numerical Simulation)
    Prof. Dr. Jürgen Gall (Institute for Computer Science)
    Prof. Dr. Franca Hoffmann (Institute for Applied Mathematics)
    Dr. Xenia Kobeleva (University Hospital and DZNE)
    Prof. Dr. Petra Mutzel (Institute for Computer Science)
    Prof. Sven Rady, Ph.D. (Institute for Microeconomics and HCM)
    Prof. Dr. Catharina Stroppel (Mathematical Institute)
    Prof. Dr. Jens Vygen (Research Institute for Discrete Mathematics) 
  • Representatives Status Groups
    Research Associates: 
    Dr. Sonja Dames (Managing Director HCM), Dr. Daniel Schmidt (Institute for Computer Science) & Dr. Sven Mallach (HPC/A-Lab DiCe)
    Technical and administartive Staff:
    Judith König (Computer Science) & Sabine George (Mathematics)
    Felix Blanke (Student Council Mathematics), Gina Muuss (Student Council Computer Science), Fabien Nießen (Student Council Mathematics)

Management TRA 1 Modelling


Document Actions